Delhi Logo
November 24, 2008
Delhi College Senate Minutes November 24th, 2008

 Meeting called to order by Presider, Julee Miller

         Quorum established at 4:18 p.m.

Senators Present: David Brower, Donna Dougherty, Cindy Elston, Terry Hamblin, Kim MacLeod, Barrett Meckel, Clark Nelson, Kathleen Ogborn, Thomas Philion, Angela Rhodes, Shannon Shoemaker, Jennifer Smith, Mary Wake, Linda Weinberg

Absent:  Glenda Bolton, Jack Burgess, Linnea Burwood, Steve Dixon, Joan Erickson, Jeff Stedman, John Taylor, Jack Tessier, Carolyn Tolley, Allen Wachter

Guest: Candace Vankco

 President's Report: 

  • Articulation agreement for the Teacher Education template approved by SUNY at Department of Education
  • Distance learning BBA in Hospitality and Business and IT Management at SCCC outline sent to state
  • Budget concerns: Asked to reduce the operating budget by $2 million; next year it is anticipated to be even more difficult
  • Tuition increase by SUNY Board; spring tuition increased by $310; $610 annual increase beginning in the fall of 2009; this increase will not help out at the campus level
  • SUNY turned down the Masters of Management in Hospitality; a response was returned to SUNY
  • Farrell Hall conversion-no signed contracts; executive bulletin from the governor halted all new construction-waiting on clarification as to whether this project falls into that category
  • The Provost sent out a message to the faculty about an opportunity to teach in Chile for the spring semester; please give consideration to this opportunity

 The minutes from the November 10th, 2008 meeting were approved.  B. Meckel and K. MacLeod abstained

 Term Limits:

"Members who serve on the Promotion committee or Continuing and Term appointment committee of the College Senate are held to three years of consecutive service for their respective committee. This term of three years should overlap between divisions making up the committee to promote continuity. In the case where a division does not have the required qualified personnel to adhere to these term limits,  one of the following  actions should be voted on by the division : 1) the qualified member who has  completed his or her third year  can continue to serve on the committee in question until another qualified member within that division becomes eligible to serve and is voted in by their division, or 2) the division may elect to leave the committee seat vacant until such a time when they have an additional division member eligible to serve ."

  • It is the responsibility of committee chairs to let the Presider know if there are openings; nominations and voting occur at the division level
  • Motion to approve the bylaws change as written or restructured with bullets made by T. Philion; seconded by T. Hamblin, approved without dissent

 Senate Scholarship:

  • Business division needs to choose another candidate; Presider to e-mail the dean

 Chancellor's Award Committee:

  • Discuss at department or functional area meetings
  • Nominate someone who you feel is deserving

 The meeting was adjourned at 4:57 p.m.

 Next Meeting:  Monday, December 8th, 2008.

Contact Info
Jared Yando, Presider

Last Updated: 2/19/16