SUNY Delhi Students Inducted into National Honor Societies

Forty-two top-performing SUNY Delhi students were inducted into Phi Theta Kappa and Phi Eta Sigma honor societies in a recognition ceremony on campus this April. The inductees fulfilled all requirements for membership and were selected based on their dedication to scholarship, leadership, fellowship, and service.

Addressing the inductees during the event, SUNY Delhi Provost Thomas Jordan said, “Ordinary people do ordinary things, and that is fine. However, individuals like you have decided to do a little extra and stand out. That makes you extraordinary! Congratulations to all of you.”

Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society is the international honor society of two-year colleges and academic programs. To be eligible for membership, a student must have completed at least 12 hours of associate degree coursework with a cumulative 3.5 GPA. The faculty advisor for the honor society at SUNY Delhi is Associate Professor Heidi Yorke.

Students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa were Caleb Backus, Clinton Jacobs, Kamryn French, Ryan Hunter, Sarah Nicholson, Tammy Budine, Sanaa Clark, Tim McGuire, Sharon Curtis, Nolan Sears, Michael Caterino, Richard Burke, Cael Howland, Dominick DeBonis, and Bailey Lyons.

Phi Eta Sigma is the third oldest university honor society in the US. Its mission is to award students for achieving high scholastic performance during their first year in the baccalaureate programs. SUNY Delhi students must achieve a cumulative GPA 3.50 and maintain full-time enrollment in a four-year program to be invited into the society. The faculty advisor for the honor society at SUNY Delhi is Associate professor Joan Erickson.

Students inducted into Phi Eta Sigma were Jerome Agyapong, Amber-Lyn Canfield, Chris Jones, Kamryn French, Noah Heyn, Kailey Leach, Marissa Lombardi, Skyler Nowalk, Drew Romanski, Luca Russo, Sierra-Santiago Snell, Shanek Thomas, Richard Turoski, Mary Churko, Shailee Garcia Cordova, Gavin Hotchkin, Yasmeen Kablaoui, Tyrell Lamb-Fazio, Liam McGuire, Toni Parikas, Domenic Pirraglia, Ashley Porco, Moise Saintil, Jack Seminara, Patrick Sliwka, Lynn Tiberio, and Courtney Woodard.

The ceremony also recognized students who will be graduating this spring with Phi Theta Kappa and Phi Eta Sigma honors badges. They are Maham Arif, Holly Bay, Nelson Mondaca, Mackenzie Norman, Isabella Perez, Salinah Smith, Becky Velez, Madisyn Woods-Heath, Jackeline Zamora Romani, Hayley Angus, Paige Crum, Jamie Howe, Sydney Lawrence, Arriana McClenon, Makenna More, Ginamarie Parascandola, Kayla Riccio, Allison Rigas, Nalysia Santiago, Courtney Woodard, Ashley Youyoute, Faith Peters, Becky Valez, Daisy Dominguez, Rachel Dewitt, and Jessica Coleman.

Office of Admissions

118 Bush Hall