Students Receive Citizenship Awards

The Office of Student Life and the O’Connor Center for Community Engagement at SUNY Delhi held the annual Citizenship Award Ceremony on May 27. The awards recognize students and student organizations who demonstrate the qualities of a good citizen, including a sense of responsibility to the campus and local community and a belief that acting for the benefit of others is right and good, regardless of self-recognition for such action.

The Aspiring Community Champion Awards were presented to students who have emerged as future civic leaders and have become active in affecting positive change in the campus community. This year’s recipients were Christopher Falcone and Brian Sitts.

The Community Service Project of the Year Award was presented to students and employees who have successfully collaborated on a project that impacts the lives of others and serves as a model of civic leadership and service-learning. Winning projects are examples of a sustained commitment to making SUNY Delhi and the great Delhi community a better place. This year’s winner was the Tomato Sauce Project, a collaboration between SUNY Delhi’s culinary arts program and community partners 607CSA, DCMO BOCES, and Rural Health Network of South Central NY to make and distribute locally created tomato sauce to area schools. Students participating in the project were Noah Heyn, Marissa Lombardi, Freddy Rubano, and Denise Simmons-Green along with faculty Brianne Smith and Elizabeth VanBuren.

Student Citizenship Awards were presented to students who have prioritized volunteering through their leadership roles on campus and have demonstrated a commitment to making the greater Delhi community a better place. This year’s recipients were Michael Anemone, Michael Brognano, Kyle Hewett, and Terrence Ludwig.

The Community Service Organizations of the Year Awards were given to the following student organizations:
Club of the Year - Environmental Studies & Sustainability
Sorority of the Year - Pi Nu Epsilon
Fraternity of the Year - Kappa Sigma Epsilon

Faculty Citizenship Awards were presented to faculty who have prioritized volunteering and service-learning in and out of the classroom, and are leaders of civic engagement on the campus community.
Dan Gashler, Associate Professor, Liberal Arts & Sciences
Peter Brusoe, Assistant Professor, Liberal Arts & Sciences

Champions for Change Awards were given to students or organizations who have demonstrated a commitment to social justice, citizenship, and advocacy, and to enhancing communication and collaboration across difference. The recipients were Jamie Osei, Summer Phillip, Upsilon Delta Epsilon, and Zeta Delta Tau.

Thank you and congratulations to all recipients!

More information on Citizenship Awards

Office of Admissions

118 Bush Hall