SUNY Delhi Students Receive Leadership Awards

Twenty students recognized in annual ceremony

Delhi, NY (04/13/2023) — Twenty SUNY Delhi students and three faculty/staff members received Student Life Leadership Awards on Tuesday, April 11, in a recognition ceremony held at the Centennial Center in Sanford Hall on campus.

"These recipients have shown outstanding commitment, dedication, and excellence in their service to students, and it is with great pride that we recognize them today," said Interim Vice President for Student Life John Padovani. "Each recipient represents the very best of what it means to be an outstanding leader, educator, and Delhi Bronco. Their contributions have made a real difference in the lives of students, and they continue to inspire and motivate all of us."

The Barbara Jones Leadership Awards were presented to individuals who exemplify the values of the Student Life Division and who significantly contribute to improving the quality of life at SUNY Delhi. Emerging Leader Awards are given to students who have begun their leadership journey and whom we hope to see develop even further. Students who received this award were Divine Adenekan, Christopher Bunt II, Samantha Coleman, Lizkeily Disla Jimenez, Dami Ibitoye, Courtney Jerabek, Clarissa LeBell, Marissa Lombardi, Elizabeth Martinez, Jamie Osei, Albert Osterman, Jesus Peralta Malena, Summer Phillip, Sabrina Richards, Julia Rios, Alexis D. Schwarz, and Jessenia Soto. Three faculty and staff members, Peter Brusoe, Shawn Callahan, and Carrie Fishner, also received the award.

The Laurel Murphy Memorial Scholarship is awarded to honor the memory of a former student and to provide financial support to a liberal arts student who has overcome challenges to achieve academic success. This year's recipient was Alexander Madison.

The Neil '62 and Linda '65 Riddell Scholarship was established to encourage Delhi campus leaders to complete their studies and become successful alumni. The award was given to Marissa Lombardi.

The Marcus Somerstein Memorial Scholarship honors the memory of a former student in recognition of a current student with a minimum 2.75 GPA and demonstrated need. This year's recipient was Dami Ibitoye. 

The SUNY Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence honors outstanding students who have successfully integrated academic excellence with extra-curricular and community-oriented accomplishments on campus and in the community. This award was given to Reginald Odametey and Grace Thomas.

Learn more about student life at SUNY Delhi.

Students reveiving awards

Office of Admissions

118 Bush Hall